Re-Envisaging the Eight Developmental Stages of Erik Erikson: The Fibonacci Life-Chart Method (FLCM)

  •  Robert Sacco    


The purpose of this study is to describe the use of Fibonacci numbers to model Erikson’s eight developmental stages and to formulate practical clinical implications. Using a new method, called the Fibonacci Life-Chart Method (FLCM), all prospective dates based on the Fibonacci sequence between January 1, 2000 and December 31, 2100 were identified. This study found the FLCM produced a developmental pattern characterized by eight recognizable stages. This finding constitutes a new classification of Erikson’s eight developmental stages. The present research provides support for Erikson’s epigenetic view of predetermined, sequential stages to human development based on the occurrence of Fibonacci numbers in biological cell division and self-organizing systems. This method may help identify populations at risk for psychological disorder, which would allow early intervention. However, a longitudinal study is required to establish its predictive power.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.
  • ISSN(Print): 1927-0526
  • ISSN(Online): 1927-0534
  • Started: 2011
  • Frequency: semiannual

Journal Metrics

(The data was calculated based on Google Scholar Citations)

1. Google-based Impact Factor (2021): 1.11
2. h-index (December 2021): 29
3. i10-index (December 2021): 87
4. h5-index (December 2021): N/A
5. h5-median (December 2021): N/A