Inaugural Speeches by Conservative Prime Ministers From 2010 to 2022: A Consolidated Rhetoric

  •  Francesco Pierini    


The Conservative Party has been in power for more than 10 years in Great Britain, from 2010 until the time of writing this document and five Prime Ministers have succeeded from David Cameron to Rishi Sunak, now in office. The document analyzes and seeks to explain how Conservative leaders have informed the country and communicated with the people every time each of them took office and gave his inaugural speech. Through speech analysis I worked on each inaugural speech and tried to explain their differences and similarities even though the genre of inaugural speeches doesn't leave much space for the speaker to express their policies and measures in detail because it only lasts a handful of minutes and can give a simple indication of what the new PM will do. Surely the most interesting aspect of this type of discourse is the PM's sense of leadership and decisiveness which may or may not emerge from the words, syntactic structures and rhetorical figures they use to communicate their ideas to the country.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.
  • ISSN(Print): 1923-869X
  • ISSN(Online): 1923-8703
  • Started: 2011
  • Frequency: bimonthly

Journal Metrics

Google-based Impact Factor (2021): 1.43

h-index (July 2022): 45

i10-index (July 2022): 283

h5-index (2017-2021): 25

h5-median (2017-2021): 37

Learn more